So I’ve been baking…

Since I was laid off in December, I have been doing all kinds of little “projects” and one of my favourites has been baking! I have been experimenting baking, gluten free, sugar free, egg free…  It’s been super tasty! Plus with The Open going on, each Sunday I have been bringing in treats for all my awesome Crossfit athlete friends!

Here’s some of my recent findings:

  1. Eggs are a major staple in baking, but they CAN be replaced!
  2. Gluten free baking is not so challenging once you start understanding how it cooks differently!
  3. Gluten free baking is DELICIOUS! (Find the right recipes)
  4. Baking can be guilt free and become a valuable protein!
  5. You don’t need white sugar or brown sugar.
  6. Coconut flour is NOT an equal substitute for flour.
  7. Coconut sugar is an amazing substitute for white sugar!
  8. Almost all recipes use too much sugar!
  9. You can make “cream cheese” out of nuts! (Seriously)
  10. THE BEST thing about baking is having other enjoy the result!

 Last week I made these Protein balls that I loved! So I thought I would share!

Lime Protein Bites (click for link)

IMG_4213

I slightly modified her recipe, I used regular limes, “normal dates” and only used almonds and they were just as awesome as I think her recipe would be!

This next recipe I sorta created! I was trying to make some more protein bites, but somehow screwed up and the mixture was too dry. So I turned it into Protein Cookies that turned out surprisingly well!

Almond Chocolate Protein Cookies (there are eggs in this one)

I forgot to take a picture of these… But trust me the looked and tasted great!

Ingredients 

  • 2 scoops Chocolate Protein Powder
  • 1 cup almond meal/ almond flour
  • 1/2 cup almonds
  • 1/2 cup unsweetened shredded coconut
  • 1/2 cup nut butter (ie: almond butter)
  • 1/4 cup maple syrup (i used a little less as my protein powder is fairly sweet)
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 1 tsp baking powder

Preparation

  1. Place protein powder and almond meal in food processor (or use crushed nuts and just mix everything well in a bowl)
  2. Then, add in nut butter, eggs and maple syrup, almonds, coconut, baking soda and baking powder and mix again. At this point the batter should be just like cookie dough.
  3.  Using a tablespoon, scoop out dough place on cookie sheet bake at 350 for 8-10 minutes. These cookies don’t change shape much or spread out so you can place them fairly close together.
  4. Now try not to eat them all in one sitting (#toomuchprotein)

 

I have also made these No bake Chocolate Latte Protein Bites

IMG_4163

I adapted these from Lindsay Cotter’s recipe, which I have linked!
Ingredients
    • ¼ cup chopped nuts (I used almonds and Pecans)
    • ⅓ cup almond meal or coconut flour
    • ½ cup almond butter
    • 1- 2 tbsp ground coffee (I put a little more because I LIKE coffee!)
    • ¼ cup Chocolate Protein Powder (I used SFH Chocolate)
    • ⅓ cup maple syrup. You can also use honey if maple syrup is not available. (I used a little less then a 1/3 as the protein powder is sweet enough!)
Instructions
  1. Chop nuts in food processor if they aren’t already chopped . Transfer into a large bowl and add in all the remaining ingredients with the honey/maple syrup being the last . Mix well and roll into bite size balls. Coat bites with extra protein powder and/or coffee. Makes about 20 balls. Freeze or keep in refrigerator to maintain freshness.
  2. Eat! EASY!

Banana Bread has become a staple in our house! Wade loves it with coffee in the morning. Here are a couple of my favourite, GF Banana Bread recipes! I have yet to come up with an egg free banana bread recipe. But I will admit I haven’t tried very hard, since Wade and I eat eggs.

Cinnamon Chocolate Swirls Banana Bread

IMG_4026

I have made this recipe exactly, but I also regularly make it without the “chocolate swirl”. I simply follow the recipe, but add the cinnamon directly to the batter and add chopped walnuts (about 1/2 – 1 cup, depending how much you like walnuts). This is Wades favourite! It works great to pour the batter into muffins instead of a loaf. You just bake for slightly less time!

 

Banana Bread French Toast 

banana-bread5

Photo Credit: Julie Bauer, paleomg.com

This is a recipe where  I think Julie might be a genius! I made this for a couple girl friends and man it was GOOD! The loaf itself was amazing as french toast of just on it’s own with a cup of coffee! I forgot to take a picture of this one, but mine looked just like Julie’s.

If you have never cooked or baked using Julie’s from paleomg.com recipes, then you should! Wade and I have tried many and enjoy a lot of her recipes. We have 3 of her cookbooks! (www.paleomg.com) 

All this baking talk and I’m hungry! So I will leave you with all those treats! Happy Baking!

IMG_4030

 

 

Leave a Reply

