16.1 & 16.2

The Crossfit Open is well under way. With 16.2 time almost up, I thought it might be a good time for another blog post. For my non-Crossfit enthusiasts, Sorry not sorry.

images

16.1

16.1 was my first ever Open WOD. Let’s talk about this crazy hard, uncomfortable, awesome experience. They say change and good things happen when you are uncomfortable. Well, for me this is an easy description of 16.1

I was excited. I was super nervous. I was dreading the 20 minutes. I was completely convinced I was going to have to do it scaled and I was super frustrated about that. The plan was to do the WOD on Sunday. Saturday, Wade and I made our way to the gym to simply try the movements and make sure we were ready for Sunday. I warmed up and worked on the scaled movements. Felt good. Other then the mild disappointment I wasn’t doing RX. I was so close! The overhead lunges, I could do. The Burpees, I got those! It was the C2B pull-ups that I didn’t have.

2 weeks before the Open I got my first strict pull ups. C2B was on the list but not yet something I had accomplished.

Coach Jane, was chilling before the next class and stopped me and asked me why I was doing scaled. She didn’t agree with my assessment of not being able to do C2B. Jane is quite an amazing coach. She has a very strategic approach to all the movements and is quick to see what the athlete needs to either get the movement or the appropriate scaling. I attribute a lot of my pull up success to the time Jane has spent with me in class. She showed me some tricks, leading me to get my first C2B.

FullSizeRender

Now I had to try 16.1 RX.

Here’s the workout:

AMRAP – 20 minute clock (RX)

  • 25-ft overhead walking lunges (65)
  • 8 Chest 2 bar pull ups (C2B)
  • 25- ft overhead walking lunges
  • 8 Bar facing burpees over the bar

Sunday, was basically epic for me. I was nervous, wanted to succeed and super uncomfortable (that perfect recipe for change and good things!) With the help of an excellent judge (Janne thats you!), I managed to pull through with a score of 120, which means I did 32 C2B pull ups! I surprised myself beyond what I expected and for that I am very proud! 16.1 was a tough WOD. 20 minutes is a long time to keep your head in the game! But Janne and I even laughed a few times.

16.2

16.2 was an entirely different game. If I had to describe 16.2 in one word it would be Frustration. Here’s the workout:

16.2 – RX

 25 toes-to-bars (T2B)
50 double-unders (DU)
15 squat cleans, 135 / 85 lb.

If completed before 4 minutes, add 4 minutes to the clock and proceed to:
25 toes-to-bars
50 double-unders
13 squat cleans, 185 / 115 lb.

If completed before 8 minutes, add 4 minutes to the clock and proceed to:
25 toes-to-bars
50 double-unders
11 squat cleans, 225 / 145 lb.

If completed before 12 minutes, add 4 minutes to the clock and proceed to:
25 toes-to-bars
50 double-unders
9 squat cleans, 275 / 175 lb.

If completed before 16 minutes, add 4 minutes to the clock and proceed to:
25 toes-to-bars
50 double-unders
7 squat cleans, 315 / 205 lb.

I’ll admit, when I watched the announcement, my initial thoughts were, I can do this RX, I think I should be able to get to the second round squat cleans. WRONG! Well, the second round part. RX still happened. My head definitely miscalculated that one, which I quickly figured out watching athletes do 16.2. Some of my box crushes who are so strong and skilled where getting killed in this one!

My new goal, to get as close to those 1st squat cleans as possible. Because really, the T2B and DU were fairly big obstacles in my way. My power thighs were going to crush those 85 pound squat cleans if I could just get to them! T2B is a fairly new skill for me. I think I got my first one somewhere near getting my first strict pull up. I am still a bit away from stringing them together. SO singles it is! DU’s are very moody. Some days they wanna be my friend and others they just wanna leave me with whip marks.

Needless to say Sunday morning it was time to find out what would happen. The result? I never got off the rig. 19 T2B, plus 12 no-reps in four minutes.

FullSizeRender-2

I debated all day, do I try it again? Eventually my good friend Kait, helped me make up my mind to just go for it again. Kait’s a very calm and encouraging friend. She calmly just said, “you got this Meg”, and she believes it, therefore, so did I. The goal of the second attempt, finish those darn 25 T2B! The result? 25 T2B and 11 Du’s! Yesss! I would be lying if I said I was totally satisfied with my score. I am however, proud of the effort and getting off the rig! Definitely a shout out to those cheering for me and Coach Christi coming by and giving me some pointers! Again, very uncomfortable and change and good things happen.

16.1 & 16.2 were very different and had very different #gainz for me. 16.1 showed me I can do more then I thought it kinda built me up, 16.2 showed me some things I really need to work on and kinda brought me down a bit. But brought me down in a positive way, showing me that when faced with a super frustrating challenge, I can push through and still come out better.

12805691_446312265572984_642967327920502953_n.jpg

Love this! Kait on the left, Anna in the middle and me on the right! I’m always chasing these two! I’ll catch em one day!

So far my first Open experience is proving pretty cool. Watching all the box athletes do amazing things and truly supporting each other through it is about as cool as crushing your first C2B’s! I’ve never competed in such an encouraging community! I think I owe some of my success to the cheering and encouragement that happens and the coaches walking around and giving pointers! Although I am mostly competing with myself, I am also competing against all the other athletes and they with me. Yet, we all share tips or what we learned from the WOD with those trying it next, we all cheer and help each other push through a tough moment, we all celebrate what we have done. What truly amazes me is we see it even at the highest level of elite athletes during regionals and the games. They encourage and celebrate each other. It’s hard not to want to be a part of a sport like that.

As an added bonus, the intramural teams is super fun. I love being there and seeing them do amazing things! This blog post has been a lot about me, but the truly fabulous thing about the Open isn’t really about just me. It’s about everyone! Everyone will have their Open story!

2 RX workouts down, lots of mental and physical #gainz, some soreness, bit of a hoarse voice from all the cheering and encouraging and I’m hungry… again! Time for second breakfast!

16.3 here we come…..

 

 

4 thoughts on “16.1 & 16.2

  1. Robin Thomas says:

    Well done on going Rx in both workouts. I didn’t try 16.1 Rx because I couldn’t manage 95# OH lunges. Like you, and many others, I also thought I could manage to get past round 1 of 16.2 Rx’ed. I managed 3 squat cleans in the 4 min. I was disappointed, so I waited about 5 minutes and tried to do it scaled. I managed to get to round 2 and 10 reps. Frustrating!!!! That was Friday. A whole bunch of the guys in our box were saying that today they would try again. I decided to join them and had a much better result today. I managed to get to round 4 of the scaled – 6 reps in the squat clean for a total of 345. I have decided to ’embrace the scaled’ and will set a baseline for 2017. Good luck on the rest of the Open. You’re off to a fantastic start.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

