Ex -Cereal Monster

I used to eat so much cereal! Like breakfast, lunch and dinner were all seen as perfectly good times to crush some cereal, on a regular basis.

I didn’t eat the sugary stuff, like fruit loops very often, but I was super into the Harvest Crunch! MMM! Just tonnes of delicious crunchy oats! Two for one cereal sales were like winning the lottery!

05_success

#winning

Needless to say cooking and baking have never really been in my wheelhouse. There were three main problems when it came to me and the kitchen;

  1. I had very little interest in planning something to make, or going to the grocery store to get ingredients and finding a recipe…blah blah… no thanks
  2. When I did go through the trouble, 2 out 3 times whatever I was cooking or baking would either completely #fail or be mediocre at best
  3. Cooking only for you sucks and cooking for others when its “meh fine” also sucks (nothing like people trying to pretend it awesome, you know that face, chipmunk cheeks eyes wide, head nod)
enhanced-buzz-3957-1368465914-17

“MMM…SO GOOD.”

So ultimately in my last 20 something years of life, I have not been into this cooking and baking thing. Thankfully, my husband not the other hand is not only great cook, but likes it. Over the last couple years he has been showing me a totally different way to eat and made me even a little curious about cooking.

So something super weird has happened in the last couple months.I’ve started planning meals, and cooking and baking and actually enjoying it! I haven’t even poisoned anyone yet! I have been doing everything free of white sugar and white flour. Using as clean of foods as I can.

Here’s some of the baking I have done lately (that worked!):

So last week, my good friend Kait was talking about Chocolate Chip cookies. See Kait has a super intolerance to eggs and gluten. But she has been craving basic, classic chocolate chip cookies! So what did I say? Challenge accepted!

I found a chocolate chip cookie recipe that did not contain eggs, however used brown sugar and white flour and modified it! Here’s the link of the recipe I started with: Daily Rebecca.

Now you have to understand, normal baking I have failed many many times. So modifying a recipe had like a 5% chance of being successful for me. I have flopped so many things. One time I actually made cookies that came out transparent!

This time though, I succeeded in making a gluten free, vegan chocolate chip cookie! How do I know I succeeded? Because I brought them to Crossfit and fed them to my friends after a gross “Snatchapalooza WOD” and they liked them! And Kait had a dream about them, that means they were good right!??!

Here’s the recipe:

IMG_4022

Classic Chocolate Chip Cookies (Vegan & Gluten-Free)

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 cup of Coconut Oil
  • 1 cup of Coconut Sugar (could probably cut back a little if wanted, I will next time)
  • 1/4 cup of Almond Milk
  • 1 TBSP of Vanilla
  • 1 cup of Coconut Flour
  • 1 cup Almond Flour
  • 1 TSP of baking soda
  • 1 TSP of baking powder
  • 1 cup dark chocolate chips

Directions:

  1. Pre-heat over @ 350 degrees
  2. Mix melted coconut oil, coconut sugar, almond milk and vanilla together in one bowl.
  3. Mix coconut flour, almond flour, baking soda and baking powder in another bowl.
  4. Mix dry and wet ingredients together. Fold in Chocolate chips.
  5. Place about tablespoon size in balls on a cookie sheet, flatten slightly and bake for 8-10 minutes.

*They don’t really change size very much so you can decide on size, I went for little ones! *When they come out of the oven they are super “crumbly like” and can fall apart easily, so it’s best to let them sit and cool a little before moving them off the pan.

If you decide to try it I hope they turn out like they did for me!!!

Yay for Chocolate chip cookies!

IMG_4042

Crushing Cookies! Nom nom nom!!!

 

 

One thought on “Ex -Cereal Monster

Leave a Reply

